The school board is made up of seven citizens elected at large by voters in the district. Members are elected to four-year overlapping terms, with elections being held every two years. At the end of a four year term, members may run for re-election to successive terms. Voting takes place at the general elections in November, and terms begin the first Monday in January thereafter.

Every year, at its first meeting in January, the school board holds an organizational meeting to elect officers and settle other routine business. The superintendent is an ex-officio member of the board who facilitates the work of the school board and is responsible to the board for providing leadership to the school district and carrying our board directives.

On November 6, 2018 registered voters elected four school board members to begin serving terms in January 2019.

Mark Burns, Shelley Pearson, Tina Riehle and Liz Weisberg will take their ceremonial Oath of Office at the January 3, 2019 Organizational meeting. Their terms of office will expire In January 2023.

The three school board member seats currently held by members Jennifer Pelleiter, Mike Ptacek and Sarah Stivland will expire in January 2021. An election for these three seats will be held in November 2020.

Learn more by reviewing the resources below. For questions, please contact Barb Proulx at proulxb@stillwaterschools.org or 651.351.8455.


Stillwater Area Public Schools - Serving on the School Board 
Minnesota School Boards Association - Becoming a School Board Member
Minnesota School Boards Association - Where School Boards Learn to Lead

Affidavits of Candidacy

Who is running for the School Board.

Election Notice

View the General Election information here.

Where to Vote

Access the Polling Place Finder and Absentee Voting information here.

Campaign Finance

Campaign Finance information is located here.

School Board Candidate Forums

Learn more about school board candidates before heading to the polls in November.

School Board Election Results

Shelley Pearson, Liz Weisberg, Tina Riehle and Mark Burns have been elected to the Stillwater Area Public School Board.