Schools closed remainder of school year

The Governor has ordered all Minnesota schools to remain closed with distance learning in place through the end of the 2019-2020 school year to help slow the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Top juniors presented with Book Awards

May 23, 2019
Book Award winners

Top students from the Class of 2020 were honored at Stillwater Area High School's annual Book Award Ceremony. Nine juniors were recognized for their academic achievements and community involvement. The awards come from some of the top universities in the country, including Harvard, Dartmouth and Yale. The SAHS counseling department sponsored the event. Several universities were represented by alumni who spoke a few words about their college experiences. Students were presented with a special book chosen by the school or alum.


Brandeis University – Waltham, Massachusetts

The Brandeis University book award is presented for a commitment to civic engagement, community service, political activism, social justice, or volunteer work.

Recipient: Adelyn Oberg

Dartmouth College – Hanover, New Hampshire

The Dartmouth College book award is presented for outstanding academic achievement and other positive contributions to the school.

Recipient: Elizabeth Tuttle


George Washington University – Washington D.C.

The George Washington University book award recognizes high school juniors who embody the GW drive and spirit, specifically with their academic excellence, leadership outside of the classroom, diversity of thought, and ability to put knowledge into action.

Recipient: Grace McDonough


Harvard University – Cambridge, Massachusetts

The Harvard College book award is presented for excellence in scholarship and high achievement in other non-academic areas.

Recipient: Josephine Ramirez


Saint Michael’s College – Colchester, Vermont

The Saint Michael’s College book award is presented to one male and one female student with a sustained and sincere commitment to community and service, highly exceptional social conscience, and leadership.

Recipients: Trey Kruse and Sarah Symalla


Yale University – New Haven, Connecticut

The Yale University book award is presented to a student for excellence in scholarship, outstanding personal character and intellectual promise.

Recipient: Elsa Huckels


Wellesley College - Wellesley, Massachusetts

The Wellesley book award honors a female in the junior class whose academic record and character are exceptional and who has also made significant personal contributions to her school and/ or community.

Recipient: Madeline Haase


Swarthmore College -Swarthmore, Pennsylvania

The Swarthmore College book award commends current high school juniors recognized by their communities for their exceptional academic achievement, intellectual curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, a deep sense of ethical and social concern, open-mindedness and an appreciation for difference as a learning opportunity, and their willingness to collaborate with Others.

Recipient: Sophie Browning