Student journalists earn top awards

October 10, 2019
Student journalists from Stillwater Area High School brought home numerous awards from the Minnesota High School Press Association during the recent convention at the University of Minnesota. 
The Pony Express newspaper earned the following awards:
Minnesota High School Press Association Print Best of Show, Third Place
Minnesota High School Press Association Website Best of Show, Fourth Place
Minnesota High School Press Association Gold Medallions:
Website General Excellence Fourth Place
Broadcast News Story First Place, Claire Anderson, Gavan Townsand, Toby Weiss
Broadcast Feature Story Second Place, Paige Speedling, Jameson Stahl, Claire Andesron
Newspaper Editorial Third Place Hannah Sween
Newspaper Review Fourth Place, Emma Polucha
Newspaper News Story Third Place, Abby Banks
Newspaper Sports Story Second Place, Ben Wrightsman
Newspaper News Photo Fourth Place, Hannah Sween
Newspaper Page One Design Second Place, Hazel Flock
Journalism Education Association: All State Silver, Print
Journalism Education Association: All State Silver, Online
The students also recently earned the International First Place ranking from the Quill and Scroll organization for the 12th year in a row.

The Kabekonian Yearbook earned the following awards:
Gold honors in the All-State Contest
Third place Best of Show in yearbook category
Yearbook Student Life copy Second Place, Gabi Danielson
Yearbook Academic/Clubs copy Second Place, Ben Valerius
Yearbook Student Life copy Fifth Place, Michael VanLieshout
Yearbook Theme Concept package Fifth Place, Lateefat Ajidagba
The Stylus Literary Magazine earned the following awards:
Magazine Photograph First Place, Grace Anderson
Magazine Art/Illustration First Place, Lydia Geiser
Literary Magazine Poem Third Place, Dorothy Chislett
Magazine Spread Design Third Place, (whole staff) 
Magazine Art/Illustration Fourth Place, Eli Fisher
Magazine Photograph Fourth Place, Tommy Igo