SAHS sophomore wins Drake University Physics Prize Test

April 10, 2017

Stillwater Area High School sophomore Ian Ruh won the Drake University Physics Prize Test. Four other SAHS students finished in the top ten, including Evan Sand (4), Drew Weigel (6), Josh Albrecht (7) and Adam Markowicz (8). Two others finished in the top twenty: Alex Daum (16) and Marta Markowicz (17). As the winner, Ian was offered a $140,000 four-year, full-tuition scholarship to attend the Iowa school.

The rigorous, two-hour test is given to high school students in Minnesota, South Dakota, North Dakota and Nebraska. Drake has been offering the Physics Prize since 1970 to encourage interest in physics and physical science and to give recognition to outstanding high school students. Stillwater has a history of strong showing with students placing in the top three in 20 of those years, including six first place finishers.