SAHS choir director receives prestigious state award

August 12, 2020
Stillwater Area High School choir director Katelyn Larson has been named the 2020 Minnesota Young Choral Director of the year! This prestigious award is given by the Minnesota Chapter of the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) to a director with 10 or less years of experience in the choral profession. Larson is one of just six female choir directors honored in the past 22 years. 

Larson directs the advanced and developing treble choirs at SAHS, teaches an extracurricular 9th-10th grade chamber ensemble, and serves as the vocal director for the spring musical. She also teaches undergraduate coursework in vocal pedagogy at the University of St. Thomas and enjoys mentoring student teachers whenever possible. Choirs under her direction have been selected to perform at the MN ACDA fall conference and the St. Olaf Choral Festival.

Larson is a 2007 graduate of SAHS.