Pony Express newspaper Editor-in-Chief places second in Minnesota Journalist of the Year contest

April 04, 2019
Teacher presenting student with award

Congrats to senior Abby Banks who was awarded second place in the Minnesota Student Journalist of the Year contest! SAHS teacher and Minnesota Journalism Education Association President Laurie Hansen presented Banks with the award. In order to earn the honor, she had to compile an extensive portfolio of her work produced during her time as Editor-in-Chief of the Pony Express newspaper.

This is the 10th time during the past 13 years that a Stillwater student has placed or won Minnesota Journalist of the Year. Previous winners include: Jenna Gibson, 2007 (1st place), Abby Lindekugel, 2008 (1st place), Chelsey Falzone, 2009 (2nd place), Anna Morris, 2012 (1stplace), Maddie Gerrard, 2013 (3rd place), Paul Hudacheck, 2014, (1st place), Jessica Thomas and Ahnika Kroll, 2015, (Honorable Mention); Justin Hannasch (Honorable Mention); 2016, Tiana Meader, 2017 (Honorable Mention), Abby Banks (2nd place).