George Hoeppner named to All State School Board

November 09, 2017
George Hoeppner

Stillwater Area Public School’s board chairperson George Hoeppner has been named to the 2018 All State School Board, which is the Minnesota School Boards Association’s (MSBA) most prestigious award.

The award recognizes board members for strong leadership, excellence in boardsmanship, communication skills, visionary thinking, and demonstration of concern for students, staff and taxpayers.

Of the more than 2,300 school board members in the state, Hoeppner is one of just seven board members chosen for the award this year.

“The All State School Board represents the highest example of board service,” said MSBA Executive Director Kirk Schneidawind. “These are school board members who are committed to student achievement, determined to build support for their local schools and unwavering in their pursuit of what’s best for students.”

Hoeppner, who has served on the school board since 2007, was cited for helping guide the Stillwater school board team through very trying times while always keeping his focus on student achievement. One colleague said when she asked him how to be a good board member, Hoeppner told her: “Just ask if it’s what’s best for kids and then vote your conscience so you can sleep at night. I haven’t missed a night’s sleep in 10 years.”

Hoeppner will receive his award during a luncheon at MSBA’s annual Leadership Conference in January. MSBA is a private nonprofit organization that provides cost-saving programs, management support, board training, advocacy, research and referral for Minnesota’s public schools.